Faculty Research Achievements

Academic Leadership, Research Awards and Fellowship

  • MGMT department ranks among the Top Fifteen management departments in the world in terms of faculty productivity for the recent seven years (2008-2014), based on the UT-Dallas survey of research publications in five premier management journals (Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Organization Science, Strategic Management Journal).
  • Prof Yaping Gong and Prof Riki Takeuchi are among the top 10 most prolific expatriate scholars in the world, from a bibliometric study lead by Prof Cristina Lopez-Duarte and her team (Expatriate management and national culture: a bibliometric study of prolific, productive, and most cited authors and institutions, International Journal of Human Resource Management, 2017).
  • Prof Yaping Gong is one of the two co-chairs for the Global Leadership and Cross-Cultural Management Track (Division) for the 2018 Academy of International Business Meeting in Minneapolis, Minnesota, U.S.A.
  • Prof Yaping Gong and Prof Jing Zhu have received the 2016 Citation of Excellence Awards by Emerald Management Reviews.
  • Prof Yaping Gong's 2012 paper ("Unfolding the proactive process for creativity: Integration of the employee proactivity, information exchange, and psychological safety perspectives") was selected as a finalist for the 2017 Scholarly Impact Award at Journal of Management
  • Prof Yaping Gong appointed as Senior Editor for Management of Organization Review (2014-2017), the official journal of theInternational Association for Chinese Management Research (IACMR).
  • Prof Yaping Gong and Prof Larry Farh have received the 2013 Citation of Excellence Awards by Emerald Management Reviews.
  • Prof JT Li has been elected Fellow of the Academy of International Business (AIB), and has been elected as Vice President of the AIB and the Program Chair of the 2018 AIB annual conference.
  • Prof J.T. Li appointed as Associate Editor for Strategic Management Journal (2009-2016), a top-tier academic journal in strategy.
  • Prof Riki Takeuchi appointed as Associate Editor for Academy of Management Journal (2013-2016), the flagship empirical journal in management.
  • Prof Melody Chao has received the 2013 Michael Harris Bond Award for Early Research Contributions by Asian Association of Social Psychology. This award recognizes individual who has made significant contributions to Asian social psychology, broadly defined as psychological research on social processes in the Asian context, of a basic and/or applied nature.
  • Prof Melody Chao has received the 2013 Early Career Award by International Academy of Intercultural Research. This award recognizes individuals who have made substantial contributions to the field of intercultural relations early in their careers.
  • Prof Huiwen Lian has received the Early Career Award 2012/13 by the Hong Kong Research Grant Council. This award is under the Early Career Scheme (ESC), each awardee would receive in addition to the funding of research and an additional amount of about $100,000 for undertaking educational activities including the training of undergraduate students.
  • Prof Jaee Cho has received 2018 Harry and Pola Triandis Doctoral Thesis Award by International Association for Cross-Cultural Psychology. This is intended to honor and reward good research and to advance the early careers of dedicated researchers.

Best Paper Awards

  • Winner of International HRM Scholarly Research Award, entitled: "Ups and downs of the expatriate experience? Understanding work adjustment trajectories and career outcomes". (Zhu, J., Wanberg, C. R., Harrison, D. A., & Diehn, E. W.) The award is given to authors of the most significant article in international human resource management by the HR division of Academy of Management (2017).
  • Finalist for the 2013 Carolyn Dexter Best International Paper Award, entitled: "Human resources management and employee creativity: A cross-level examination of underlying mechanisms". (Liu, D., Gong, Y., Zhou, J., & Huang, J. C.) Paper accepted for presentation at the 2013 Academy of Management Conference, Orlando, Florida. This award is a prestigious All-Academy Award, by the Human Resource Division, Academy of Management.

High Level Research Outputs

  • 200+ articles in refereed journals

  • 40+ book chapters in various volumes

  • 8 books and edited volumes

  • Research published or accepted for publication in top-tier journals since 2012:

YearNo. of articles
2017 and forthcoming 10
2016 6
2015 5
2014 5
2013 9
2012 6
  • Research Grants
    • Since 2000, obtained over 35 RGC-GRF grants for a total over $17.5 million
    • High Impact Area grant to China Business and Management, 1998-2004, total $6.3 million

Editors and Review Board Members of Management Journals

Members of the Editorial Review Boards:

Academy of Management Journal

Prof Sam Garg
Prof Yaping Gong
Prof JT Li
Prof Riki Takeuchi
Prof Jing Zhu

Journal of Applied Psychology

Prof Yaping Gong
Prof Ellick Wong

International Journal of Strategic Change Management

Prof Bilian Sullivan
Prof Jinyu He

Journal of Behavioral Decision Making

Prof Ellick Wong

Journal of International Business Studies

Prof JT Li (Editor)

Journal of Management

Prof Yaping Gong
Prof JT Li

Journal of Business Research

Prof JT Li

Management and Organization Review

Prof Larry Farh (Senior Editor)
Prof Yaping Gong (Senior Editor)
Prof Bilian Sullivan (Senior Editor)
Prof Melody Chao

Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes

Prof Riki Takeuchi

Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal

Prof Sam Garg
Note: This listing only shows the current membership.


Outstanding Reviewer Award

This award is in recognition of truly outstanding service as a member Editorial Reviewer Board of Academy of Management Journal (AMJ)/Academy of Management Review (AMR). Each year, about 8-10% of reviewers (ie about 12-16 reviewers) will receive this award.

  • 2016. Prof Yaping Gong - Winner of Outstanding Reviewer Award, AMJ.