Member Induction Ceremony


Filter by year
Chapter President J T Li_for web.jpg

Professor Tam Kar Yan

President, Beta Gamma Sigma HKUST Chapter 
Dean, School of Business and Management

My warmest congratulations to the newly inducted honorees and members. As a Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) member, you are connected to a network of outstanding students and respected leaders who have demonstrated a firm commitment to excellence.

BGS presents a symbol of high principles and superior achievement. We believe that by cultivating a culture of excellence and developing a closer connection with prestigious associations, our School will set a stronger foundation for its future.

Each year we welcome a new group of elite students, faculty, professionals and business leaders to connect with this “Best in Business” network. This network provides a platform for our students and faculty to interact and engage with industry professionals and the business community.

I look forward to members’ active participation in activities organized by BGS and hope you will find the BGS network and its resources rewarding to your future.

Mrs Christine Ip

Christine joined United Overseas Bank Limited (“UOB”) in 2011. She is a Managing Director responsible for developing the Bank’s Greater China strategy. Christine has been appointed as CEO of UOB Hong Kong since 2012 and CEO Greater China with effect from 1 July 2016.

Christine is a seasoned banker with more than 30 years of experience in both Consumer and Corporate Banking, and she has significant experience in China. Prior to joining UOB, Christine has held a range of senior management positions in product and sales management, customer segment management and risk management in Hong Kong, the United States, Canada, Singapore and China with ANZ, Standard Chartered Bank and HSBC.

She was Australia and New Zealand Bank (ANZ) CEO and Executive Director of the China business. She has led the team to expand the franchise in terms of geography and to build a comprehensive range of corporate and retail products and service capabilities. During her role as ANZ China CEO, the Bank won best “Australia Business Award in China” by Australia Chamber of Commerce. Prior to that, Christine was Country Head, Consumer Banking, China at Standard Chartered Bank spearheading the development of the business and team building with WTO opening. She has led the Standard Chartered Bank to win “Best Retail Bank in HK” and “Best Foreign Retail Bank in China”.

Her achievements have brought her the Asia Retail Congress award for “Best International Retail Banker’ in 2008 and she was also named by the All-China Women’s Federation as among the Top 100 Greater China Senior Women Executives in 2012.

Christine is also a non-executive director of United Overseas Bank (China) Ltd and an independent non-executive director of SmarTone Telecommunications Holdings Ltd, a listed company on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange. She is an Alumni Advisory member of the HKUST Business School. On 1 July 2016, she has been appointed as the China advisory member of Adecco Group AG.

In 2015, under Christine’s leadership, UOB Hong Kong has spearheaded the UOB Art Academy promoting education and appreciation of art to the mass community in Hong Kong. She is now a committee member of the Museum Advisory Committee under Leisure & Cultural Services Department of the HKSAR Government. She also sits on the board of Travel Industry Compensation Fund Management Board, an appointment by the Secretary for Commerce & Economic Development of the HKSAR Government.

Christine holds a Bachelor Degree of Arts from the University of Hong Kong and an MBA from the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

Mr Roland Wong

Mr Roland Wong is the Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director of Thing On Enterprise Limited. He is responsible for the overall investment and financial management of the company. Prior to joining Thing On Enterprise Limited, he worked at PricewaterhouseCoopers and Standard Chartered Bank.

Mr Wong holds a Bachelor degree in Business Administration from the University of Hong Kong. He is a practising member of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants (HKICPA), a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW), a member of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) and a member the CPA Australia (CPAA).

In addition to his business interest, Mr Wong dedicates much of his time to public services in Hong Kong and Mainland China. He is an observer of the Independent Police Complaints Council, a member of the Wan Chai District Fight Crime Committee and a member of the Quality Education Fund Assessment and Monitoring Sub-committee. Mr Wong is also a member of the 12th Guangxi Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference and a member of the 12th All-China Youth Federation.

Mr Wong is a Director of the International Mathematical Olympiad Hong Kong Committee. He supervises activities for mathematically talented students, with the aim of helping them take part in the International Mathematical Olympiad. Last but not least, as a Director for the Wong Chak Chui Charitable Foundation, Mr Wong ensures that support is given to those in need in the society, serving the underprivileged communities in Hong Kong and Mainland China.

The HKUST Business School congratulates the following members on their induction into the Beta Gamma Sigma Chapter at The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

Chapter Honorees

IP, ChristineWONG, Roland

Faculty Members

PhD Graduates

MBA/MSc Graduates

BBA/BSc Graduates

BBA/BSc Undergraduates


BAI, Xue CHAN, Chung Kan CHAN, Kristy CHEN, Runhua CHIU, Chi Long CHIU, Hui Tung CHOI, Keun Seok CHUNG, Chi Kit HE, Xue HOU, Hei Tung HUANG, Silin HUANG, Xiaoyi JI, Xiayan KEJRIWAL, Varidhi KU, Ka Yeung KWAN, Man Kit LEUNG, Ming Pok Billy LI, Ka Wing Kendra LI, Peiyang MAN, Ka Po MARK, Yuen Ting TAM, Yuk Lam TONG, Ka Ho WONG, Tak Sing YANG, Yuan ZHOU, Weixuan


BHARWANEY, Avinash Vinod CHEUNG, Hiu Lam Emry FENG, Jiayue HE, Jianyao HO, Bo Yau LEENARDI, Klaudius Arief LEUNG, Ho Ming LEUNG, Ka Wei LEUNG, Kai Hin LUI, Leung Yau POON, Tsz Kiu RATTANARUNGRUENGCHAI, Pat TAM, Hiu Yu Christy WONG, Graham Alex WONG, Yik Yin Jason WU, Shuning WU, Xinyi XU, Feiting YAO, Mianjia YAP, Faye YAP, Gracia Stephanie YEUNG, Alex Lok-hin YU, Man Chi Tiffany ZHONG, Jiayi


CAO, Leyao CHAN, Ho Ming Sydney CHEN, Dianna CHOW, Yui Chit LAU, Tsz Wing Jowena LEUNG, Cheuk Hang Matthew LEUNG, Wai I LING, Chi Chun LIU, Yaoyang MUCHHALA, Tasneem Taher SUNTOSO, Steven TENG, Songyuan WONG, Hin Ching WONG, Pan YAMAMOTO, Hiroki ZHANG, Chuang ZHANG, Ziyue ZHU, Haoren

(Surnames in alphabetical order)